UHD Faculty Senate Committees

Last updated 9-27-07

These committees are staffed and essentially run with oversight by the Senate, except the Grievance Committee, which is elected by all faculty and works in coordination with administration, as specified in PS 10.A.02.

Faculty Senate Executive Committee (FSEC)

The Executive Committee shall consist of the president, the vice president, the secretarytreasurer and two Senate members elected by the Senate. The members elected by the Senate shall serve one-year terms but may be reelected. Functions of the committee are to

- Prepare and distribute an agenda prior to each Senate meeting,
- Act for the Senate on routine business and in the implementation of policies and procedures,
- Receive and file all committee reports,
- Nominate and appoint faculty members to serve on university and/or UH-System committees or task forces whenever the Committee on Committees is not available to make nominations and the Faculty Senate is not available to appoint representatives.

Members for 2007-08

Anjoo Sikka (President) Michelle Moosally (Vice President) Gene Preuss (Secretary/Treasurer) Ermelinda Delavina (Member at Large) David Branham (Member at Large)

Faculty Grievance Committee

The Grievance Committee is comprised of tenured faculty who are elected by the Faculty Assembly at large to consider grievances filed by faculty members. The Grievance Committee, which consists of the Focus and Hearing Subcommittees, operates according to PS 10.A.02. Members serve 2-year terms and elections for new members are held in September of each year.

Members for 2007-08

Focus Subcommittee: Irene Chen (COPS) Mohsen Mobasher (CHSS) Tammis Thomas (CHSS) Charles Strain (COB) Deanna McCullough (CST) *Hearing Subcommittee:* Shohreh Hashemi (COB) Merrilee Cunningham (CHSS) Andre DeKorvin (CST) Kristin Anderson (CHSS) Debra Mullinix (COPS)

Faculty Development Leave Committee

This committee solicits and reviews applications for faculty development leave grants to "enable faculty members to engage in research, writing, field observation, internships, and other suitable professional or academic activities to improve their professional effectiveness." (PS 10.A.08) After review, the committee makes recommendations to the President, Academic Deans, and Vice Presidents. The term for each member is 3 years; the terms have been staggered to provide continuity. [For detailed timeline and other information, see PS 10.A.08.]

Members for 2007-08 (term expirations provided for each person below)

Tony Chiaviello	(English)	2009
Nicolas Rangel	(Arts & Humanities)	2010
Rich McMahon	(FACIS)	2008
Weining Feng	(Engineering Technology)	2009
Mohsen Mobasher	(Social Sciences)	2010
Chynette Nealy	(MMBA)	2009
Byron Christmas	(Natural Sciences)	2008
Leigh Van Horn	(Urban Education)	2008
TraQina Emeka	(Criminal Justice)	2009
Hong Lin	(CMS)	2010

Faculty Awards Committee

This committee chooses the winners of the annual UHD Faculty Awards, including the Teaching Award, the Scholarly and Creative Activity Award, and the Service Award. Membership consists of one member from each department, with the previous year's winners serving on the committee as representatives from their respective departments. In the event that we have multiple winners from the same department, all winners will serve on the committee, though only one is the designated department representative. The winner of the Teaching Award serves as the Chair of the committee.

Members for 2007-08

Committee on Committees

This committee advises the Senate Vice President on committee nominations and membership.

The Committee on Committees consists of the Senate vice president, who serves as chair, and other members of the Faculty Assembly elected by the Senate for one-year terms. No department may have more than one member on the Committee on Committees. Representation should be equally divided among the academic colleges. Functions of the committee are to

- Nominate, to the Senate, faculty members for all Senate committees,
- Nominate faculty members to run for president, vice president and secretary-treasurer of the Senate,
- Nominate to the Senate [or to the Senate Executive Committee], faculty members to serve as faculty representatives on the committees or task forces of the university or system.
- Solicit committee nominations from the faculty.

Members for 2007-08

Michelle Moosally (Chair) Carol Vobach (CST) Clete Snell (COPS) Herb Rebhun (COB) Anthony Chiaviello (CHSS)

Elections and Credentials Committee

This committee conducts all elections in which the Faculty Assembly votes.

The Committee on Credentials and Elections consists of three faculty members elected by the Senate for one-year terms. No department may have more than one member on the Committee on Credentials and Elections. Representation shall be equally divided among the degree-granting colleges. Functions of the committee are as follows:

- Conduct the election of Faculty Senate officers as well as other elections ordered by the Senate. The committee shall circulate to all members of the Faculty Assembly a ballot listing no more than three nominees for each office. Faculty members who wish to run for Senate office but who were not nominated by the Committee on Committees may have their names listed on the ballot by submitting to the Committee on Credentials and Elections a petition signed by at least ten percent [10%] of the membership of the Faculty Assembly,
- Inform each department through its chair, by February 1 of each year, of the number of representatives that department is entitled to elect to the coming session of the Senate,
- Investigate and report to the Senate all questions pertaining to elections. Final decisions on such questions shall be made by the full Senate,
- Decide questions concerning an individual's eligibility for membership in the Faculty Assembly, Establish guidelines for the election of departmental representatives to the Senate.

Members for 2007-2008

Shohreh Hashemi (COB, chair) Nancy Leveille (CST) Maria Bhattacharjee (COPS) Johanna Schmertz (CHSS)

Senate <u>Task Force on Research Support / Faculty Recruitment and</u> <u>Retention</u> (created Spring, 2006)

The committee's charge from the senate is to study workload policies and practices at UHD and other universities to learn how best to enhance UHD's research profile and improve recruitment and retention of faculty. In addition to gathering information about strategies used at other campuses, the committee will meet with administration to determine costs of proposals not yet considered. Finally, the committee will update Faculty Senate with current departmental plans for reducing workload to support scholarship.

Members

Delavina, Ermelinda (Co-Chair, CMS) Morano, Lisa (Co-Chair, NS) Aven, Forrest (MMBA) Belbot, Barbara (CJ) Berrached, Ali (CMS) Bradley, David (VP of Admin and Finance) Jarrett, Robert (Associate Dean, CHSS) Preuss, Gene (SS) Rangel, Nicolas (AH) Shelton, Margaret (FACIS) Sikka, Anjoo (UE) Turner, Stephanie (ENG) Uzman, Akif (NS)

Senate General Education Committee

This committee addresses educational issues of concern to the faculty. The General Education Committee consists of one faculty member from each department. The committee addresses educational issues of concern to the faculty.

This committee has not been formed for the 2007-08 year.

Senate Budget Committee

This committee consults with the administration and represents faculty views on budgetary matters of concern to the faculty in general. The Senate Budget Committee consists of one faculty member from each degree-granting college, appointed by the Faculty Senate for one-year terms.

This committee has not been formed for the 2007-08 year.